I’m back and yes it has been a while


Yes I am back the Jewish City Chick is back. Three years it’s been since I have blogged here and almost that long since I have ridden my bike. Actually the last time I rode my bike was August 2009. Now almost three years later, two cities a bad break up, I am back.

A few years ago I asked you all about Baltimore or Philly  most of you responded with Philadelphia and although I new you were right, my dumb butt moved to Baltimore. It’s a long story but it has a lot to do with that bad break up I mentioned earlier. The good news is that I am now in Philadelphia, starting my life over and I have to say, pretty happy. Also the Jewish City Chick is now a Rabbinical Student, and in the city she wanted to be in, in the first place.

Yesterday I took my single speed SE Lager out for a spin for the first time in almost three year. After checking the tires, and making sure that everything seemed to be working I was going to bike about 2.5 miles to my gym, Sweat Fitness. Since it had been a while I told me myself if I got there and could not workout then that would be okay and I would head home. There was only one problem that I did not for see and that is that my helmet was dead and time to get another one. I had to ride 2.5 miles without a helmet, something I do not advise, luckily there is a bike shop next to my gym called Human Zoom Bikes & Boards where I purchased a helmet.

The ride to the gym was great, a little on the chilly side but I was well layered. The ride to the gym is mostly down hill but the ride back is not so I found an alternate route using the Wissahickon Valley Park (Forbidden Drive). This route added about 1/2 a mile to the commute but I saw it as a better alternative to riding 2.5 miles all up hill.

Once I was on the trail the path was closed to get me back to Germantown. Not sure what to do I doubled back to see if there was another exit and found myself back where I had started so I went back on the trail and found myself on a not so bike friendly path. Anyway my 3 mile ride turned into 7.58 mile trek. After all of that it was still good to be on the bike and to start my bike commuting life in Philadelphia. So stay tuned.

3 Responses

  1. [...] Comments New Day More Gear … on Buying Better Bike GearI’m back and y… on Hello WorldI’m back and y… on Baltimore [...]

  2. Good to have you back!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

